Slow Cooker Black Bean Brown Rice Chili

black bean brown rice chili and scallion breadI told you my family likes beans.  I could make steak and half the family would turn up their noses.  But beans…well…I can’t make enough!  My oldest son (the one who requested homemade black bean burgers for his birthday dinner) had 3 helpings of this chili last night, and requested the leftovers for lunch in his thermos today!

This was the first time I made this, and I have to admit, it’s a winner.  I served it with scallion flatbread which is another family favorite.

Slow Cooker Black Bean Brown Rice Chili

Ingredients

1 onion, chopped
12 slices bacon, cut into small pieces OR 1 cup cubed ham
two 15 oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed
one 15 oz. can crushed tomatoes
3 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup brown rice
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
salt and pepper to taste

My daughter made me take her picture with it! :)

My daughter made me take her picture with it! 🙂

Method

  1. In a pan over medium heat, cook the bacon or ham for 3 minutes.  Then, add the onion and cook until carmelized and soft.
  2. In the slow cooker, combine the onion mixture, beans, crushed tomato, broth, and brown rice.  Then, mix in the garlic powder, cumin, and oregano.  Cover and cook on LOW all day.
  3. Before serving, lift the lid, give it a stir, and adjust the seasonings if necessary, including adding salt and pepper.
  4. You can serve by itself, sprinkled with shredded cheddar cheese, or topped sour cream.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Slow Cooker Black Bean Brown Rice Chili

  1. Pingback: Black Bean and Brown Rice chili – Coffee Pot Style. « Coffee Pot Cooking

  2. Pingback: Banana Flax Oatmeal Muffins « Jen Fong Eats

Leave a Reply

