Black Bean Burrito Bowls

I travel for my job.  A lot.  And that means I have to be pretty careful about what I eat on the road or I can easily get as big as a house.

One day I was driving in a rental car on a highway in Minnesota (on yet another trip) and I heard the announcer on the radio talking about some diet book she was reading, filled with tips on how to eat out.  One that stuck with me is when you order a burrito, ask for it in a bowl instead of a tortilla, and you’ll save yourself an INSANE amount of calories and fat.  That very evening I was in the Minneapolis, MN airport, and did just that.  And it was fabulous.  I was the envy of all my seatmates on the airplane.  In fact the flight attendant asked if I had brought enough to share. 🙂

And thus was born my love for the burrito bowl.  This is SO SIMPLE to make it’s silly.  And dinner is on the table in 20 minutes or less.  My kind of meal.  Plus the kids like to eat anything that involves taking ingredients from little bowls on the table, and building the meal themselves.  So it’s a win all around.  Try it yourself and let me know what you think.

Black Bean Burrito Bowls

Ingredients:

  • Brown or white rice…enough for 2-3 cups cooked rice
  • 2-3 15 oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed (depending on how many you’re cooking for…I use 3 cans for the 5 of us)
  • 1 cup salsa (we like medium, but go with whatever level of spice you like)
  • 2 Tbsp cumin (cause this just tastes good with ALL beans)
  • 3 cups baby spinach
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • More salsa for serving
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • Nonfat sour cream (you can use the fat kind if you like, but this is just as good)
  • Lime wedges

Method:

  1. Prepare rice according to package directions.
  2. Combine beans, salsa, and cumin in a pot, ad heat on medium, stirring occasionally, until hot.
  3. Put the rest of the ingredients (spinach, tomatoes, onion, cheese, salsa, cilantro, sour cream, and lime wedges) in individual serving bowls, and put on the table.
  4. To serve, put 1/2 cup rice (or so) in the bottom of each bowl, top with beans, and then let people pile on the toppings of their choice.
  5. Enjoy!

Easy, right?  And oooohhhh so good.  And it’s healthy too!  Feel free to change it up with whatever veggies you have on hand.  It’s all good.

And I promise to post a picture the next time I make this.  The kids ate it to fast for me to get one this time.

Enjoy! 🙂

One response to “Black Bean Burrito Bowls

  1. You are definitely keeping ahead of me with a rice and bean meals. Will print and index as I roam the world of recipes and save for the future.

Leave a Reply

