Sweet Potato Black Bean Hash (vegetarian, gluten free)

Canned corned beef hash…Yuck!

When I think of the word “hash” I hearken back to pink stuff that came out of a can with teeny tiny cubes of what I think were potatoes that my mother used to serve with eggs. Yeah…this isn’t that.

I love sweet potatoes. They’re delicious all by themselves. But they are also fantastic as a base for this delicious breakfast dish (that actually could be served at any time of day.)

I also have a bit of a problem when it comes to black beans. We buy cans of black beans by the case (yes I know I could do it with dry beans in my crockpot, but I haven’t gotten myself together enough to do that and properly store them.) I love that they are an amazing protein source that all of my kids will eat and be happy about it.

So it was a natural thing to bring sweet potatoes and black beans together for this dish. Then in keeping with my desire to add as many veggies to each dish as possible I threw some more in. The result was an absolutely beautiful (and totally delicious) hash that I think you’ll love. Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Black Bean Hash
Serves 1-2

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 baked sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup torn baby spinach leaves
  • 1 Tbsp pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds)

Here’s What To Do:

  1. Melt the coconut oil over medium heat in a large frying pan.
  2. Add the chopped onion and bell pepper. Cook and stir over medium heat for about 5 minutes, or until fairly soft.
  3. Add the cubed sweet potato to the pan, and cook 2 minutes.
  4. Add the black beans to the pan, and cook 2 minutes more.
  5. Turn off the heat, and add the spinach leaves. Stir until JUST wilted.
  6. Place on plate, and sprinkle with pepitas.
  7. If desired, top with a fried egg.

 

Leave a Reply

