The Best Gluten Free Christmas Sugar Cookie (Cut-Out Style) Recipe

The Best Gluten Free Sugar Cookies from https://jenfongeats.wordpress.comI’ve now been gluten-free since April, and have lost 2 sizes since I made the switch. I’ve experimented with lots of gluten-free cooking and baking, and have found a lot of recipes that I really like. The toughest thing, though, is gluten-free baking. Getting the right mix of flours to simulate wheat has been tricky at best, with each combination “almost” there, but not quite. I’ve enjoyed being able to make baguettes and such, but I’m still working on a recipe that is, in my opinion, ideal.

Now that the holidays are here, I was wondering how I was going to make Christmas cookies. Every year my kids and I have made sugar cookies…you know, the kind you roll out and decorate. We always leave some out for Santa. And I wanted to find a batch this year that we could all eat, that tasted as good as I remember.

The Best Gluten Free Sugar Cookies from https://jenfongeats.wordpress.comFriends, I’ve done it. I found the perfect recipe. This is one that we will make forever. I hope your family enjoys it as much as we do. (Note that this recipe is not refined sugar-free. Although I usually cook without refined sugar, this recipe is an exception.)

It starts with an all-purpose gluten free flour mix I developed. Make this first, and you can use it in other recipes as well.

Jen’s Gluten-Free Pastry Flour Mix 

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1 cup tapioca flour
  • 1/2 cup dry milk
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum

Combine all ingredients in an airtight container, and store in the refrigerator.

The Best Gluten Free Christmas Sugar Cookie Recipe

The Best Gluten Free Sugar Cookies from https://jenfongeats.wordpress.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) organic unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup organic pure cane sugar
  • 1 large organic egg, room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups Jen’s Gluten-Free Pastry Flour Mix
  • 1 cup blanched almond flour (Honeyville brand is best)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Here’s What to Do:

  1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy using a hand or stand mixer.
  2. Add the egg and vanilla, mixing until fully incorporated.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking powder and salt.
  4. Add flour mixture to the butter mixture and blend on low until fully combined.
  5. Divide the dough into 2 disks, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for about an hour or until firm.
  6. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  7. Take dough out of refrigerator and place on a (gluten-free!) floured surface. (Use the all-purpose mix, or rice or tapioca flour.)
  8. Slowly roll out the dough to about 1/4″ thick, repairing cracks as they appear. The key here is to go slowly.
  9. Use cookie cutters to cut dough into desired shapes, and place on parchment paper covered cookie sheets. Decorate as desired.
  10. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes, just until bottoms are starting to brown. Do not overbake.
  11. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Enjoy!

Here a batch my kids made. Poor arm-less cookie man. 🙂

The Best Gluten Free Sugar Cookies from https://jenfongeats.wordpress.com

The Best Gluten Free Sugar Cookies from https://jenfongeats.wordpress.com

What kind of cookies do you like to make with your kids? How have you adapted your traditions to a gluten-free lifestyle? Would love to read your thoughts in the comments below!

2 responses to “The Best Gluten Free Christmas Sugar Cookie (Cut-Out Style) Recipe

  1. This recipe is wonderful! My mother is also trying a gluten-free diet, and I’ve been searching for good Christmas cookie recipes to make for her. I love your kids’ cute decorations too!

Leave a comment