Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Banana Nut Cacao Pancakes (Paleo)

Banana Nut Cacao Pancakes

My kids are back to school, which means I’m getting up before the sun to make breakfast and be sure my kids get a good start to the day. Like a lot of parents, I wrack my brain to try to come up with tasty, high protein options that are easy to make when the coffee is still kicking in, and that the kids will actually eat. The bonus is when the breakfast is something I can eat too (no wheat or refined sugar.)

Well this recipe totally fits that bill. The inspiration came from Marla Sarris, who guest posted about Paleo breakfasts over at The Mogul Mom. This recipe is a variation on that theme. These were a HUGE hit in my house.

Plus the ingredient list isn’t complicated. You can use cocoa powder if you don’t have raw cacao. (And the cacao provides a nice shot of antioxidants.) And you can omit the liquid stevia all together. You can make them with almond butter, peanut butter, or any nut butter of your choice.

Banana Nut Cacao Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 heaping Tbsp nut butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp cacao or cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 5 drops vanilla stevia (optional, to taste)
  • Coconut oil or butter, for frying

Here’s What To Do:

  1. In a blender, combine bananas, nut butter, eggs, cacao powder, cinnamon, and stevia until well mixed.
  2. Heat a little coconut oil or butter in a large pan over medium heat.
  3. Pour batter on heated pan. I made silver dollar sized pancakes, but you can make them larger as you prefer. These cook quickly so as soon as the edges seem cooked, flip and cook a minute longer.
  4. Remove from heat and serve. If you use the stevia, they are sweet enough on their own, and you can just serve with fruit.

Next time we make these, I’m going to try them with pumpkin instead of bananas, omit the cacao, and use pumpkin pie spice. I’ll let you know how they turn out. 

6 responses to “Gluten and Refined Sugar Free Banana Nut Cacao Pancakes (Paleo)

  1. Natalie Beauchamp

    Thanks for this great recipe. My husband and I are empty nesters now and new and exciting recipes are what we are looking for.

  2. No coconut flour or almond flour?

  3. So glad I could inspire you with my recipe! The pancakes look delicious!! 🙂 I’ll have to try the chocolate variety.

Leave a comment